Skip to main content


View Tickets Browse Concerts


Perry So


Wu Man


San Francisco Symphony


Bounce!! [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
Texu Kim
Concerto for Pipa with String Orchestra [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
Lou Harrison
NIM [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
Younghi Pagh-Paan
The Age of Birds [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
Takashi Yoshimatsu
The Rhyme of Taigu [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
Zhou Long


Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Feb 11, 2022 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, Feb 12, 2022 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

This program of SF Symphony premieres opens with Texu Kim’s ebullient work, Bounce!!. Pipa virtuoso Wu Man joins the Orchestra for Lou Harrison’s songful concerto, followed by Younghi Pagh-Paan’s undulating Nim and Takashi Yoshimatsu’s delicate The Age of Birds. Led by conductor Perry So, the program closes with Zhou Long’s lively The Rhyme of Taigu, celebrating the energy and spirit of Japanese Taiko drumming.

Concert Extras

Pre-Concert Talk: Join us for an informative “Inside Music” talk from the stage with Laura Stanfield Prichard. Free to all ticketholders, these talks begin one hour before the February 11-12 performances. Doors open 15 minutes before.

Off-The-Podium: A post-concert audience Q&A session with moderator Laura Stanfield Prichard will be presented from the stage immediately following the concert on February 12. Free to all ticket holders.