Skip to main content


View Tickets Browse Concerts


Karina Canellakis


Alisa Weilerstein


San Francisco Symphony


Don Quixote
Richard Strauss
D’un soir triste [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
Lili Boulanger
Concerto for Orchestra
Witold Lutosławski


Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, May 13, 2022 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, May 14, 2022 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, May 15, 2022 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Conductor Karina Canellakis leads the SF Symphony and cellist Alisa Weilerstein in a concert featuring Richard Strauss’ stunning Don Quixote for solo cello and orchestra. One moment brilliant and triumphant, the next farcical, sometimes sad, the music paints a nuanced portrait of Cervantes’ complicated and compelling title character. The program also features Lili Boulanger’s D’un soir triste, a brooding work she wrote shortly before her death at age 24, and Witold Lutosławski’s Concerto for Orchestra, brimming with folk-inspired melodies and sweeping musical gestures.

Concert Extras

Pre-Concert Talk: Join us for an informative “Inside Music” talk from the stage with Scott Foglesong. Free to all ticketholders, these talks begin one hour before the May 13-15 performances. Doors open 15 minutes before.