Skip to main content

Karina Canellakis Conducts Shostakovich's Leningrad

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Karina Canellakis


Alexander Gavrylyuk


San Francisco Symphony


Piano Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 7, Leningrad

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Shostakovich Symphony No.7 Leningrad

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.
Browse And Subscribe to Podcasts


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Oct 24, 2019 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Oct 25, 2019 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, Oct 26, 2019 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Chief Conductor of the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra Karina Canellakis makes her San Francisco Symphony debut in a presentation of music by two Russian heavyweights: Prokofiev’s ravishingly colorful and percussive Piano Concerto No. 1, played by the Ukranian piano powerhouse Alexander Gavrylyuk (who also makes his SF Symphony debut at these concerts), and Shostakovich’s defiant 1941 bombshell, the Leningrad Symphony.

In the twilight of Imperial Russia, a brazen 21-year-old pianist submitted his own concerto as a graduation piece. A sassy and whimsical fantasy written for a formidable soloist (himself), the 1912 Piano Concerto No. 1 by Prokofiev scandalized the old guard. Less than thirty years later, Shostakovich unveiled his Seventh Symphony, but Russia was a different place. The old guard was all but extinguished; Stalin had prosecuted his Great Terror, and Hitler held Leningrad under siege. 


At A Glance 

Piano Concerto No. 1  1911 | 16 mins
Sergei Prokofiev was still a student when he premiered his Piano Concerto No. 1. He applied himself conscientiously to learning the piano part, writing to his friend Vasily Morelev, “it’s the first time I’ll have played with an orchestra” and “I have to know it by heart to play it confidently.” The Piano Concerto No. 1 is a tightly constructed piece, its three movements (which are connected without pauses between) running only a bit longer than fifteen minutes. Prokofiev would later recognize in his life work four “basic lines," which he called classical, modern, motoric, and lyrical. What is remarkable is the extent to which this “first more-or-less mature composition” (as the composer called it) truly sounds like what would come to be considered Prokofievian. Read More

Symphony No. 7, Leningrad 1941 | 70 mins
Dmitri Shostakovich had begun his Symphony No. 7 before the Siege of Leningrad, during which German forces choked off his home city for 872 dismal days of 1942, 1943, and 1944. Still, he wrote much of it when the Siege was going on, while he and his family were evacuated to the relative safety of the Russian interior. It is a programmatic symphony to some degree, although Shostakovich wrote: “I am not aiming for the naturalistic depiction of war, the depiction of the clatter of arms, the explosion of shells, and so on. I am trying to convey the image of war emotionally.” The four movements may trace the onset of war, memories of better times, inward passions, and grandly scaled victory. Read More

Concert Extras

Inside Music: an informative talk by Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

Off the Podium: with Karina Canellakis, Alexander Gavrylyuk, and Peter Grunberg following each performance