Skip to main content

Chamber Music Series: Jazz Folk—Music of Coleridge-Taylor & Dvořák

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Diane Nicholeris

First Violin

Helen Kim

Second Violin

Amos Yang


Rob Weir


Nick Platoff


Steve Sánchez


Chen Zhao

Second Violin


Trio for Piano, Oboe, and Bassoon 

Clarinet Quintet in F-sharp minor


Tutrovio II 

String Sextet in A major, B.80



Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Sep 29, 2019 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Discover unique chamber works that pulse with undertones of jazz and folk. Dvořák’s spirited String Sextet blends elegant Viennese lyricism with fiery Bohemian folk rhythms. An instant success, this piece solidified Dvořák as a world-renowned master. Written in 1895—yet not premiered until 1973—the lush melodies and folk idioms of English-Sierra Leone-Creole composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s Clarinet Quintet are rumored to have been inspired by Dvořák, while the jaunty rhythms of André Previn’s Trio make apparent why this incredibly dynamic artist/composer/conductor was a best-selling jazz pianist during the 1950s.