Skip to main content

To the Fourth Power: Quartets of Brahms and Fauré  Chamber Music Series

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Yun Chu

First Violin

Helen Kim

Second Violin

Polina Sedukh

Second Violin

Amos Yang


Dan Carlson

Second Violin

Jerome Simas


Rob Weir



Nonet in F major, Opus 31


String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Opus 51, no. 2


Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Opus 15



Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Apr 28, 2019 at 5:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

A nonet, a string quartet, and a piano quartet encompass a powerful program of chamber works for large ensembles. Lyricism and drama abound in Brahms’ String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, a rhythmically compact dynamo that charges ahead in high-spirited dance, occasionally pausing to flirt in operatic fashion. Fauré’s achingly romantic Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor is a musical affair of the heart. Written during the period following his broken engagement to his fiancée, its shimmering melodies are intertwined with tumultuous depth. At the work’s emotional core—the profound Adagio—is a revelation of his grief.