Brahms' Violin Concerto with Ray Chen

Buy Tickets

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Juraj Valčuha leads the San Francisco Symphony in Prokofiev's Third Symphony, an audacious work whose opening chords immediately plunge the listener into a stormy drama alleviated only by moments of delicate contemplation and elegant beauty. Also on the program, rising star violinist Ray Chen performs Brahms' virtuosic and boisterous Violin Concerto.


Juraj Valčuha


Ray Chen


San Francisco Symphony


Andrew Norman



Violin Concerto


Symphony No. 3

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Prokofiev's Symphony No. 3

At a Glance

 2008  |  10 mins
The composer offers these comments on Unstuck: “I have never been more stuck than I was in the winter of 2008. My writing came to a grinding halt in January and for a long time this piece languished on my desk, a mess of musical fragments that refused to cohere. It was not until the following May, when I saw a copy of Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five and remembered one of its iconic sentences, that I had a breakthrough realization. The sentence was this: ‘Billy Pilgrim has come unstuck in time,’ and the realization was that the lack of coherence in my ideas was to be embraced and explored, not overcome. I realized that my musical materials lent themselves to a narrative arc that, like Vonnegut’s character, comes ‘unstuck’ in time. Bits and pieces of the beginning, middle, and end of the music crop up in the wrong places like the flashbacks and flashforwards that define the structure and style of Slaughterhouse-Five. I also realized that the word ‘unstuck’ had resonances with the way that a few of the piece’s musical ideas get caught in repetitive loops. The orchestra, perhaps in some way dramatizing my own frustration with composing, spends a considerable amount of time and energy trying to free itself from these moments of stuckness.”

Violin Concerto
 1878  |  40 mins
This concerto's opening movement features sequences of turbulent emotion, sometimes interwoven and sometimes quick-cut with dreamy lyricism. LISTEN FOR: The Adagio is justly famous for the great oboe melody. Listen also to the winds, forming the harmonies around it that create the magically serene atmosphere. When the soloist enters with a variant of the oboe tune, violin and orchestra entwine. The effect is so enchanting that the conductor who led the Vienna premiere harrumphed that Brahms had written a concerto not for the violin but against it. The finale reveals the Gypsy in Brahms. It’s Brahms the lover of talk, Tokay, and Turkish cigarettes, the man who turned over his thoughts while arranging tin soldiers on his tabletop, the man who liked to sit on a bench in the Prater, watching the world go by.

Symphony No. 3
  1928  |  35 mins
Music depicting the ravings of demonic possession, eroticized spiritualism (or spiritualized eroticism), medieval witchcraft and sorcery, and a convent of nuns whipped into mass hysteria—no, it’s not the score to a Stephen King film but Sergei Prokofiev’s operatic masterpiece, The Fiery Angel. A labor of love—and great frustration—The Fiery Angel also served as the source for the composer’s Third Symphony. Prokofiev wrote that he considered this piece “to be one of my best compositions.” DID YOU KNOW? Even the tetchy composer Igor Stravinsky admired Prokofiev’s Third. By the time the work was premiered in Prokofiev’s homeland of the Soviet Union, he had come to think of it as one of his most important calling cards.”

Jeanette Yu is Director of Publications at the San Francisco Symphony.

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, May 3, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, May 4, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sat, May 5, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk by Laura Stanfield Prichard, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

Ravel in America
Discover more about the life and work of composer Maurice Ravel and his connection to the San Francisco Symphony in a special exhibition located on the First Tier. Learn More.

2017-18 Season: Click to explore

This concert is eligible for Compose Your Own. Click to learn more!