Skip to main content

Program Notes

Each week, thousands of San Francisco Symphony concert-goers open their programs to read about the drama, the passion, and the inspiration behind the music they're hearing. You can read our critically acclaimed program notes online one week prior to select concerts.

Sort By

Strauss, R.: Ein Heldenleben

Harrison: Concerto for Pipa with String Orchestra

Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Opus 98

Burritt, Michael: Fandango 13

Chamber Music with Members of the SFS - Oct 29

Masters of the Romantic: Trifonov Plays Chopin

Bernstein: The Age of Anxiety, Symphony No. 2

Gabrieli: Canzon septimi toni a 8

Ruggles: Angels for Muted Brass

Strauss, R.: Serenade in E-flat major, Opus 7

Lunar New Year Celebration

Trifonov and Babayan in Recital