Skip to main content

Morgan Conducts Price and Brahms

Browse Concerts


Michael Morgan


Melody Wilson


San Francisco Symphony Chorus

Ragnar Bohlin


San Francisco Symphony


AMEN! (San Francisco Symphony Premiere)
Carlos Simon
Symphony No. 3 in C minor (San Francisco Symphony Premiere)
Alto Rhapsody
Le Chasseur maudit

Event Description

Due to the current COVID-19 situation and the Public Health Order prohibiting gatherings of 100 or more persons, the San Francisco Symphony is unable to rehearse at Davies Symphony Hall, and all Morgan Conducts Price & Brahms performances have been canceled. Please note that while we had previously hoped to reschedule the April 30 Open Rehearsal and April 30 evening concert for Morgan Conducts Price & Brahms, these performances are now canceled.

Beloved Oakland Symphony Music Director Michael Morgan takes the podium to lead the San Francisco Symphony in a remarkable program featuring music by pioneering American composer Florence Price and versatile young composer/arranger Carlos Simon. Radiant mezzo-soprano Melody Wilson makes her San Francisco Symphony debut in Brahms’ beautifully nuanced Alto Rhapsody. 

Inside Music: an informative talk by Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Please note that the conductor for this program has changed. Mirga Gražinyté-Tyla has had to postpone her debut with the San Francisco Symphony due to maternity leave/family leave. 

Melody Wilson
Melody Wilson