Tchaik 5 & Mason Bates’ Philharmonia Fantastique

Browse Concerts


Teddy Abrams


Mason Bates


Gary Rydstrom


Jim Capobianco

San Francisco Symphony


Second Essay for Orchestra

Samuel Barber

Philharmonia Fantastique: The Making of the Orchestra West Coast Premiere, SFS Co-commission

Mason Bates

Symphony No. 5

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Event Description

Due to an extension of the Public Health Order prohibiting gatherings of 100 or more persons to slow the spread of COVID-19, there will be no concerts or events at Davies Symphony Hall through April 30. The San Francisco Symphony is working to reschedule this concert.

Those who have already purchased tickets to rescheduled concerts will be contacted directly when a new performance date is determined. We are asking ticket holders to hold their tickets until future dates can be confirmed.

This week, the San Francisco Symphony brings together two composers—one past and one present—for an inspired pairing of audience favorites. Guest conductor Teddy Abrams leads the Orchestra in the West Coast premiere of Philharmonia Fantastique. Created by internationally renowned Bay Area composer Mason Bates, Oscar-winning sound designer Gary Rydstrom (Jurassic Park, Titanic), and animator Jim Capobianco (Finding Nemo, Monsters,Inc.), Philharmonia Fantastique, The Making of the Orchestrais a virtuosic concerto for orchestra and animated film. Bates’ work appears side-by-side with another by a master musical colorist (but in a nineteenth-century aesthetic): Tchaikovsky’s thundering Symphony No. 5, which offers a volcanic rush of irresistible melodies.

Inside Music: an informative talk by Peter Grunberg with Mason Bates, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

Off-The-Podium: a post-concert Q & A opportunity for the audience to ask questions of Abrams and Bates


Mason Bates

Supported by the Athena T. Blackburn Endowed Fund for Russian Music.

Please wait...