Skip to main content

BEETHOVEN250 Piano Recital with Igor Levit

Browse Concerts

& Performers


Piano Sonata No. 9 in E major, Opus 14, no.1


Piano Sonata No. 10 in G major, Opus 14, no.2


Piano Sonata No. 11 in B-flat major, Opus 22


Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat major, Opus 106, Hammerklavier


Event Description

Due to the COVID-19 situation, we have had to make the difficult decision to cancel the remainder of the 201920 season, including Summer with the Symphony. This cancellation includes most concerts that were previously announced as postponed. 

Acclaimed Russian-German virtuoso Igor Levit continues the global celebration of Beethoven250 in an electrifying recital featuring four of the composer's 32 piano sonatas. Opening this epic program are the Sonatas Nos. 9-11 from Beethoven's "early-middle period." Discover the works that introduced the composer's volatile and vibrant Sturm und Drang (literally "storm and stress") quality, as he freely expressed extremes of emotion. Then Beethoven's mighty Hammerklavier—music that shifts earthly and spiritual planes, bringing players and listeners alike to the depths of the human psyche and back.