Skip to main content

Open Rehearsal: Salonen Violin Concerto

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Esa-Pekka Salonen

SFS Music Director Designate and Conductor

San Francisco Symphony


Violin Concerto

Esa-Pekka Salonen Esa-Pekka Salonen

Symphony No. 5

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Feb 27, 2020 at 10:00AM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

The Open Rehearsals are endowed by a bequest from the estate of Katharine Hanrahan.

Event Description

San Francisco Symphony Music Director Designate Esa-Pekka Salonen takes a turn as composer and conductor with longtime musical partner Leila Josefowicz. The restlessly innovative maestro presents his Violin Concerto, a piece championed by intrepid virtuoso Leila Josefowicz she since gave its premiere in 2009. Also on the program, Salonen and the SF Symphony play Beethoven’s 1811 Overture to King Stephen, written to commemorate the opening of a new concert hall in Budapest. They conclude the evening with the kinetic Fifth Symphony by fellow Nordic composer Carl Nielsen.

Inside Music: an informative talk by Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

These concerts, a part of The Barbro and Bernard Osher Masterworks Series, are made possible by a generous gift from Barbro and Bernard Osher.

These concerts are made possible through the generosity of Trine Sorensen and Michael Jacobson in honor of Esa-Pekka Salonen and the musicians of the San Francisco Symphony.

The performances of Esa-Pekka Salonen's Violin Concerto is supported by the Phyllis C. Wattis Fund for New Works of Music