Skip to main content

MTT, Yuja, Sibelius, & Brahms

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Yuja Wang


San Francisco Symphony


Symphony No. 5 


Piano Concerto No. 1 

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, May 14, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, May 15, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, May 16, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, May 17, 2020 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

The May 16th concert is sponsored by Zenni

Event Description

The San Francisco Symphony welcomes the return of piano superstar Yuja Wang, the dazzling virtuoso who pours ferocious technique into Brahms' breakout piece, the Piano Concerto No. 1. Brahms was 24 and an unknown when he presented his First Concerto and was hissed off the stage in 1859. That Leipzig audience couldn’t yet comprehend the young genius who would soon be counted among Germany’s greatest composers. By contrast, Jean Sibelius was approaching the half-century mark when the Finnish government honored him with a national holiday. In a show of vitality and vigor, Sibelius crafted an explosive torrent of energy in his Fifth Symphony, and conducted the world premiere on his 50th birthday in 1915.

Inside Music: an informative talk by Scott Foglesong, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.