Skip to main content

MTT, Yuja, Sibelius, & Brahms

Browse Concerts

& Performers

Michael Tilson Thomas


Yuja Wang


San Francisco Symphony


Symphony No. 5 


Piano Concerto No. 1 

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Event Description

Due to the COVID-19 situation, we have had to make the difficult decision to cancel the remainder of the 201920 season, including Summer with the Symphony. This cancellation includes most concerts that were previously announced as postponed. 

The San Francisco Symphony welcomes the return of piano superstar Yuja Wang, the dazzling virtuoso who pours ferocious technique into Brahms' breakout piece, the Piano Concerto No. 1. Brahms was 24 and an unknown when he presented his First Concerto and was hissed off the stage in 1859. That Leipzig audience couldn’t yet comprehend the young genius who would soon be counted among Germany’s greatest composers. By contrast, Jean Sibelius was approaching the half-century mark when the Finnish government honored him with a national holiday. In a show of vitality and vigor, Sibelius crafted an explosive torrent of energy in his Fifth Symphony, and conducted the world premiere on his 50th birthday in 1915.

Inside Music: an informative talk by Scott Foglesong, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

San Francisco Symphony orchestra at Davies Symphony Hall