BEETHOVEN250  Beethoven 5 & Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3

Browse Concerts


Louis Langrée


James Ehnes


San Francisco Symphony


Symphony No. 31, Paris

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Violin Concerto No. 3

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 5
Ludwig van Beethoven
All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Event Description


This concert is canceled due to an extension of the Public Health Order prohibiting gatherings of 100 or more persons to slow the spread of COVID-19, there will be no concerts or events at Davies Symphony Hall through April 30. Please see the home page for more details.

The San Francisco Symphony welcomes brilliant conductor Louis Langrée in his debut with the Orchestra. This program of masterpieces features two Mozart works: the Symphony No. 31, Paris⁠—one of his most pleasing and grandest efforts—and the wonderfully dreamy and spritely Violin Concerto No. 3, played by the marvelous James Ehnes. Closing the program is Beethoven's Fifth. With the most famous opening notes in all classical music, this wildly impassioned, large-scale symphony is one of the most popular works of all time.

Please note that the conductor and violinist for this program has changed. Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider has cancelled his appearance with the Symphony. His wife is expecting a child and he is unable to travel to San Francisco.

James Ehnes, violin

Please wait...