MTT Conducts Stravinsky’s Petrushka and The Rite of Spring

Buy Tickets

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Igor Stravinsky hit music like a thunderclap. With Petrushka (1911) and The Rite of Spring (1913), he sent shockwaves that continue to ripple through music today. Driven, frenetic, and strikingly original, each score is as unique in character as it is wondrous. Hear these seminal works conducted by Michael Tilson Thomas, and Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto played by the “rapturously lyrical” (The Guardian) Leonidas Kavakos.

Doors open at 6:15pm on 9/27-9/29 and 12:15pm on 9/30.


San Francisco Symphony



Petrushka (1947 revision)


Violin Concerto


The Rite of Spring

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring
Stravinsky's Petrushka

At a Glance


Stravinsky’s breakthrough to fame arrived when he embarked on a string of collaborations with the ballet impresario Serge Diaghilev, whose Ballets Russes—launched in Paris in 1909—quickly became identified with the cutting edge of the European arts scene.

Petrushka  1911/1947  |  34 mins

When Stravinsky wrote the music to Petrushka (1911/1947), he imagined “a distinct picture of a puppet, suddenly endowed with life, exasperating the patience of the orchestra.” The vibrancy of this spirited score captures this to a T. LISTEN FOR: The puppet’s mad flurry provokes the orchestra to “retaliate with menacing trumpet blasts . . .  resulting in a terrific noise that reaches its climax and ends in the sorrowful and querulous collapse of the poor puppet.”

Violin Concerto  1931  |  22 mins

Samuel Dushkin, who commissioned and premiered Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto (1934), recalled that one day at lunch, Stravinsky wrote down [a] chord and asked me if it could be played. I had never seen a chord with such an enormous stretch . . . and I said ‘No.’ Stravinsky replied sadly, Quel dommage [What a pity].” When Dushkin went home and realized that it actually could be played, he immediately called the composer, who completed the concerto in six months. LISTEN FOR: The chord that was so casually brought up at lunch begins each of the work’s four movements—Stravinsky called it his “passport” to the music.  

Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)  1913/1947  |  35 mins

The events of May 29, 1913—the premiere of Le Sacre du printemps (1913/1947) and the infamous audience riot that followed—catapulted Stravinsky, and modern music, onto a path from which there was no turning back. He described this controversial piece as a representation of pagan Russia, insisting that “it is unified by a single idea: the mystery and great surge of creative power of spring.” LISTEN FOR: There are many connections to folk music, including a Lithuanian tune that is the basis of the incredibly famous, astonishingly difficult high-pitched bassoon solo that opens the piece.

JEANETTE YU is Editorial Director at the San Francisco Symphony.


Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Sep 27, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, Sep 28, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sat, Sep 29, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  4. Sun, Sep 30, 2018 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

“Stravinsky: The Man. The Myth. The Riot”

A Special Exhibit
Stravinsky. He was the one everybody watched, the trailblazer, the pathfinder, the very exemplar of the 20th-century composer. Igor Stravinsky’s epochal collaboration with Serge Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, and his long association with the SF Symphony and its music directors is the subject of the September exhibit. Visit the exhibit at Davies Symphony Hall from September 10–30 in the First Tier Lobby.

Pre-Concert Screening
Michael Tilson Thomas was not only influenced by Stravinsky, he knew him. Get the insider info at a special pre-concert screening of Keeping Score/ Rite of spring starting at 6:30pm.

Art Haus Collective Presentation
The SF Symphony joins creative forces with Art Haus Collective, an organization dedicated to bringing edgy, spectacular performances of classical and contemporary works into unique spaces. Experience Stravinsky’s music through electrifying choreography as Art Haus Collective artists perform as part of this must-see pre-concert event located in the First Tier Lobby beginning at 7pm

Program Support

These concerts, a part of The Barbro and Bernard Osher Masterworks Series, are made possible by a generous gift from Barbro and Bernard Osher.