Susanna Mälkki and Nikolaj Znaider

View Tickets Browse Concerts


Susanna Mälkki


San Francisco Symphony

Nikolaj Znaider

First Violin


Violin Concerto
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

The Poem of Ecstasy

Alexander Scriabin

Laterna Magica



Scriabin: The Poem of Ecstasy Op. 54.

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.
Browse And Subscribe to Podcasts


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Jun 7, 2018 at 11:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Jun 8, 2018 at 11:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, Jun 9, 2018 at 11:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Two superstars of classical music, violin virtuoso Nikolaj Znaider and conductor Susanna Mälkki, join forces to present Tchaikovsky's monumental Violin Concerto. Experience Mälkki’s "charismatic and dynamic podium presence" (Chicago Classical Review) and "the glowing tone" (The New York Times) of Znaider in a concert also featuring Scriabin's wonderfully mystical The Poem of Ecstasy.

At a Glance

Violin Concerto in D major
 1878  |  33 mins
Soloist Nikolaj Znaider makes his entrance in this firecracker of a concerto after a gracious and suspense-building orchestral introduction. The first movement is remarkably virtuosic while the second movement is melodically inspired. Tchaikovsky’s finale sounds like an urban, cultured picture of country.

Laterna Magica (The Magic Lantern)
 2008  |  20 mins
Kaija Saariaho’s Laterna Magica borrows its title from pioneering film director Ingmar Bergman’s autobiography, which he titled after an old name for an image projector. Saariaho sensed a parallel between the manipulation of projected images and how music, unfolding in real time in performance, is perceived by the listener.

The Poem of Ecstasy
 1907 |  22 mins
The operative word here is “ecstasy.” We might listen to this piece as a constantly unfolding rhapsodic effusion of motifs, titillating textures, and exorbitantly rich colors. “When you listen to Ecstasy,” Scriabin said, “look straight into the eye of the sun!”

JEANETTE YU is Director of Publications at the San Francisco Symphony.


Concert Extras

Inside Music, an informative talk by Elizabeth Seitz, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

The Prelude Series: A Pre-Concert Discussion
An engaging new way to enhance your classical music experience at Davies Symphony Hall. Join us 45 minutes before the performance in the First Tier Lobby to take part in a free pre-concert discussion. Discussion topic: Seeing Sound. Learn More.

Please wait...