Press Room


Davies Symphony Hall
201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102

(415) 503-5474
[email protected]

Jun 16, 2021


World premiere of Weston’s new work to be given by Esa-Pekka Salonen and the San Francisco Symphony in Fall 2022
Additional commissions awarded to Jonathan Bingham,
Shawn Okpebholo, and Sumi Tonooka

SAN FRANCISCO, CA—The San Francisco Symphony, in partnership with the San Francisco Conservatory of Music (SFCM) and the SFCM President’s Advisory Council on Equity and Inclusion, announced today that Trevor Weston will receive the first commission of the annual Emerging Black Composers Project. The San Francisco Symphony, led by Music Director Esa-Pekka Salonen, will give the world premiere of his new commissioned work in the fall of 2022. Developed with artistic guidance from Oakland Symphony Music Director Michael Morgan, SFCM Music Director Edwin Outwater, and San Francisco Symphony Music Director Esa-Pekka Salonen, the Emerging Black Composers Project initiative fosters the creation, workshop, and performance of new music from early-career Black American composers.

Trevor Weston is professor of music and chair of the Music Department at Drew University in Madison, NJ. His musical education began at Saint Thomas Choir School in New York City at the age of ten; he later graduated from Tufts University and continued his studies at the University of California, Berkeley where he earned his M.A. and Ph.D. in music composition. In addition to his original catalogue of works ranging from orchestral, choral, and chamber pieces, Weston completed the re-orchestration of Florence Price’s Concerto in One Movement for piano for the Center for Black Music Research in 2010. As winner of the Emerging Black Composers Project, he will receive a $15,000 commissioning fee, mentorship from committee members, and resources to workshop his piece with San Francisco Symphony, along with its premiere at Davies Symphony Hall.

“Winning the first Emerging Black Composer Project is an immense honor and wonderful recognition,” said Weston. “This is an incredible opportunity to develop my music with the mentorship of internationally acclaimed musicians and institutions.”

Weston was selected through an anonymous review process by a selection committee led by Michael Morgan, Edwin Outwater, and Esa-Pekka Salonen, and also including music education and industry leaders John Adams, Elinor Armer, Carmen Bradford, Anthony Davis, Germaine Franco, and Joseph Young.

With thanks to supporters Michèle and Laurence Corash and in recognition of the level of skill and talent in the group of finalists, the selection committee also named three additional prizewinners: Jonathan Bingham, Shawn Okpebholo, and Sumi Tonooka, each of who will receive a commissioning fee of $8,000, mentorship by a composer on the committee, and workshopping along with a premiere of their new work by the Oakland Symphony, SFCM, or the National Brass Ensemble during the 2022–23 season.

“We are proud to name Trevor Weston the recipient of the first commission from the Emerging Black Composers Project," said Michael Morgan, who served as chair for the committee. “We are also thrilled to spotlight three additional promising artists whose careers we will eagerly follow. They remind us that talent is often more abundant than opportunity, and that music can and should bring people together across those lines.”

Click here to access the Emerging Black Composers Project Press Kit, which includes artist headshots and a PDF of this press release.


Beth Giudicessi, [email protected]
Rachelle Roe, [email protected]

Robin Freeman, [email protected]
Tatyana Filatova, [email protected]

[To view or download a PDF of the full press release, click the Download PDF link]

Please wait...