Press Room


Davies Symphony Hall
201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102

(415) 503-5474
[email protected]

Dec 7, 2021



Conductors Earl Lee, Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, and Akiko Fujimoto will lead the eclectic program, which Morgan planned and was scheduled to conduct

High-resolution images of the San Francisco Symphony and guest artist headshots are available for download from the Online Photo Library.

SAN FRANCISCO, CA— Three conductors will make their San Francisco Symphony orchestral series debuts February 17–19, 2022, on a program honoring late Oakland Symphony Music Director Michael Morgan.

Morgan, who passed away in August 2021, was a passionate advocate for conductors on the rise in their careers as well as artists of color. Continuing his legacy, the program, which Morgan planned and was scheduled to conduct, will be shared by three conductors in their orchestral series debuts: the San Francisco Symphony’s new Resident Conductor of Engagement and Education Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, and conductors Akiko Fujimoto and Earl Lee.

The eclectic program that Morgan conceived, featuring five San Francisco Symphony premieres, will remain the same. Lee will conduct Carlos Simon’s Amen! and César Franck’s Le Chasseur maudit, Fujimoto will lead the Orchestra in Florence Price’s Symphony No. 3, and Bartholomew-Poyser will conduct Johannes Brahms’ Alto Rhapsody featuring mezzo-soprano Melody Wilson, also in her SF Symphony orchestral series debut, as well as three traditional American hymns arranged by Jack Perla: “Give Me Jesus,” “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” and “My Soul’s Been Anchored in the Lord.”

Morgan’s ties to the San Francisco Symphony stretched back to 1994, when he first led several of the Orchestra’s Concerts for Kids performances. More recently, in summer 2020, he collaborated with the SF Symphony as curator and host for the CURRENTS video series exploring varied musical cultures in the Bay Area. In July 2021, he led the orchestra in works by Gioachino Rossini, Louise Farrenc, and James P. Johnson in performances at Davies Symphony Hall and Frost Amphitheater. The San Francisco Chronicle’s Joshua Kosman said of his performance, “Some conductors use a guest appearance with a major orchestra as an opportunity to show what they can do. Michael Morgan uses it to show what the orchestra can do. I like his way better.”

“Michael Morgan was deeply inspiring to me,” Interim Chief Executive Officer Matthew Spivey said at the time of Morgan's death in August 2021. “His approach to music was one of crossing barriers, forging bonds, and bringing people together. His programming was known for eclectic twists and turns that defy reason on paper but lift hearts in the concert hall. Michael understood the extraordinary range of beauty, expression, and creativity that exists all around us if we are willing to open our minds, ears, and hearts.”


Tickets for concerts at Davies Symphony can be purchased via or by calling the San Francisco Symphony Box Office at 415-864-6000. Tickets prices range from $35 to $135.

Davies Symphony Hall is located at 201 Van Ness Avenue in San Francisco.

Health & Safety Information 
Davies Symphony Hall is currently operating at full audience capacity. The San Francisco Symphony requires proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 for everyone ages 12 and up entering Davies Symphony Hall—including patrons, performers, volunteers, and staff. Full vaccination is defined as completion of the two-dose regimen of Pfizer or Moderna vaccines or one dose of Johnson & Johnson vaccine administered two weeks or more in advance of the concert. Audience members between the ages of 5 and 11 must show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 test (PCR test within 72 hours of the event, or antigen [rapid] test within 24 hours of the event). Audience members under age 5 must show proof of a negative COVID-19 test (PCR test within 72 hours of the event, or antigen [rapid] test within 24 hours of the event). All patrons are required to wear a face mask while attending performances. Details about health and safety protocols at Davies Symphony Hall can be found here. 

[To view or download the full PDF version of this press release, click DOWNLOAD PDF]

Please wait...