View Tickets Browse Concerts


Sheku Kanneh-Mason


San Francisco Symphony


Cello Concerto No. 1

Dmitri Shostakovich
Fairytale Poem
[First San Francisco Symphony Performances]
Sofia Gubaidulina
Francesca da Rimini
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Jun 13, 2024 at 10:00AM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Sheku Kanneh-Mason makes his Orchestral Series debut with Dmitri Shostakovich’s subtly sinister Cello Concerto No. 1. Shostakovich once told Sofia Gubaidulina that his wish for her was always to continue along her “mistaken path”, turning a critical remark from her Soviet censors into a virtue. Her poignant Fairytale Poem portrays a small piece of chalk in the hand of a child who draws “castles, gardens with pavilions and the sea with the sun on the pavement.”

Sheku Kanneh-Mason's appearance is generously supported by the Shenson Young Artist Debut Fund.

These concerts are generously sponsored by the Athena T. Blackburn Endowed Fund for Russian Music.

Open rehearsals are endowed by a bequest from The Estate of Katharine Hanrahan.

Concert Extras

A pre-concert talk hosted by Sarah Cahill will be presented from the stage one hour before the Open Rehearsal on June 13 from 9:00am–9:30am. Free to all ticketholders.

Please wait...