Skip to main content

BEETHOVEN250 Piano Recital with Igor Levit

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers


Piano Sonata No. 9 in E major, Opus 14, no.1


Piano Sonata No. 10 in G major, Opus 14, no.2


Piano Sonata No. 11 in B-flat major, Opus 22


Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat major, Opus 106, Hammerklavier



Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, May 24, 2020 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Presenting Sponsor
Great Performers Series

Supported by the Phyllis C. Wattis Fund for Guest Artists

Event Description

Acclaimed Russian-German virtuoso Igor Levit continues the global celebration of Beethoven250 in an electrifying recital featuring four of the composer's 32 piano sonatas. Opening this epic program are the Sonatas Nos. 9-11 from Beethoven's "early-middle period." Discover the works that introduced the composer's volatile and vibrant Sturm und Drang (literally "storm and stress") quality, as he freely expressed extremes of emotion. Then Beethoven's mighty Hammerklavier—music that shifts earthly and spiritual planes, bringing players and listeners alike to the depths of the human psyche and back.