Joshua Bell and ASMF

View Tickets Browse Concerts


Joshua Bell


Academy of St Martin in the Fields


Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 4

Johannes Brahms
All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Mar 1, 2020 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

The San Francisco Symphony welcomes renowned musicians from across the globe to the Davies Symphony Hall stage in a series that presents top-tier ensembles and artists in recital.

The perfect balance of showmanship and lyricism—experience a program that spotlights the exuberance that virtuoso Joshua Bell brings to his dual role as violinist and leader of the illustrious chamber orchestra Academy of St Martin in the Fields. The program begins with Bell leading the ensemble in Beethoven’s tempestuous Coriolan Overture. Bell performs Paganini’s Violin Concerto No. 1, a brilliant tour de force not heard here for nearly 30 years. It is a showman’s piece that has to be seen and heard to believe, combining finger leaps of Olympian proportions, stunning left-handed pizzicato (plucking of the string), and rapid avalanches of notes with the delicacy of elegant and inspired melodies. Then, Bell leads the Academy of St Martin in the Fields in Brahms’ much-loved final symphony, a powerful catharsis featuring some of the deepest, darkest, and most moving music of the nineteenth-century. 

Please wait...