Press Room


Davies Symphony Hall
201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102

(415) 503-5474
[email protected]

Dec 2, 2021



Principal Harp Douglas Rioth retires at end of 2021 calendar year


Associate Concertmaster Nadya Tichman continues her tenure with the San Francisco Symphony as revolving member of the 1st Violin section beginning in 202223 season

SAN FRANCISCO, CA—The San Francisco Symphony announces two upcoming changes to its orchestra roster. After forty years as Principal Harp of the San Francisco Symphony, Douglas Rioth will retire effective December 31, 2021. After thirty-one seasons as Associate Concertmaster, Nadya Tichman has decided to continue her tenure with San Francisco Symphony as a revolving member of the 1st Violin section beginning with the 2022–23 season.

Douglas Rioth joined the San Francisco Symphony as Principal Harp in 1981. Born in Missouri, he studied with Alice Chalifoux and Elisa Smith Dickon, attended the Interlochen Arts Academy and Cleveland Institute of Music, and studied at the Berkshire Music Center. Previously principal harp of the Indianapolis Symphony, Rioth was also a regular participant in the Salzedo Summer Harp Colony. Harp instructor at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, he also serves on the coaching team for the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra. Learn more about Douglas Rioth.

Nadya Tichman, Associate Concertmaster of the San Francisco Symphony, occupying the San Francisco Symphony Foundation Chair, joined the Orchestra in 1980. She served as acting Concertmaster from 1998 to 2001. Born in New York, she studied at the Juilliard School and the Curtis Institute of Music. Tichman has played Chamber Music at the Grand Teton and Olympic Music Festivals and with the Gualala Arts Festival and Music in the Vineyards. A champion of contemporary music, she has had pieces dedicated to her by composers Peter Schickele, Jim Lahti, and Allen Shearer. Tichman has appeared as soloist with the San Francisco Symphony on many occasions. Learn more about Nadya Tichman.

[To view or download the full PDF version of this press release, click on DOWNLOAD PDF]

Please wait...