Trifonov Plays Rachmaninoff with the San Francisco Symphony

Buy Tickets

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Described as "a marvel" (The Guardian) and in possession of “monstrous technique and lustrous tone” (The New Yorker) pianist Daniil Trifonov performs Rachmaninoff’s electrifying Third Piano Concerto. The program opens with Sibelius’ final two symphonies: his Sixth, considered by many to be his finest, and the single-movement Seventh.


San Francisco Symphony



Piano Concerto No. 3

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Sibelius’s Symphony No. 6

At a Glance

Symphony No. 6
 1923  |  28 mins
Jean Sibelius completed his set of seven symphonies with this pair of unusual works, which he developed in parallel over several years. Some material moved from one score to the other as the pieces evolved. Each has a distinct flavor that is unlike any of his previous symphonies. The Sixth qualifies as Sibelius’s “Pastoral Symphony,” a graceful composition that doesn't rattle the rafters. It is practically unique in the annals of symphonies for being written in neither a major nor a minor key, but rather in, a harmonic pattern that many will hear as folk-like. Asked about this symphony, Sibelius said, “I do not think of a symphony only as music in this or that number of bars, but rather as an expression of spiritual creed, a phase in one’s inner life.”

Symphony No. 7
 1924  |  22 mins
Like the Sixth, Sibelius’s Seventh Symphony marches to a different drummer. Whereas all of Sibelius’s earlier symphonies comprise discrete movements of varying characters, this one unrolls as a single movement in which contrasting sections are all connected into an ever-developing span. The composer struggled over whether he should even call this work a symphony; after he conducted its 1924 premiere, he ended up changing its name to identify it as a full-fledged symphony after all. It would be his last. He still had two further orchestral works in him—the incidental music for The Tempest and the tone poem Tapiola—but he effectively retired in 1927, leaving the Symphony No. 7 as his valedictory symphony.

Piano Concerto No. 3
 1909  |  43 mins
Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto offers an immense challenge to the soloist in stamina and endurance; the orchestral passages that frame the Intermezzo are the pianist’s only moments of respite. To a degree truly uncommon for a concerto in the big Romantic bravura tradition, Rachmaninoff sees the soloist not merely as someone who can sing soulfully and thunder imposingly, but as an alert, flexible, responsive musician who knows how to blend, accompany, and listen. LISTEN FOR: In all his works for piano and orchestra, Rachmaninoff invented arresting beginnings. In the first measures of the Third Piano Concerto we find a quality we do not usually associate with him—simplicity.

JAMES M. KELLER is Program Annotator and JEANETTE YU is Director of Publications at the San Francisco Symphony.


Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Jun 21, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  2. Fri, Jun 22, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  3. Sat, Jun 23, 2018 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  4. Sun, Jun 24, 2018 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk by Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

2017-18 Season: Click to explore

This concert is eligible for Compose Your Own. Click to learn more!