Program Notes

Each week, thousands of San Francisco Symphony concert-goers open their programs to read about the drama, the passion, and the inspiration behind the music they’re hearing. You can read our critically acclaimed program notes online one week prior to select concerts. 

Bartók: Concerto No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra

Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique (Fantastic Symphony: Episode in the Life of an Artist, in Five Parts), Opus 14

Bernstein: Arias and Barcarolles

Bernstein: Chichester Psalms

Bernstein: Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs

Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story