Skip to main content

Program Notes

Each week, thousands of San Francisco Symphony concert-goers open their programs to read about the drama, the passion, and the inspiration behind the music they're hearing. You can read our critically acclaimed program notes online one week prior to select concerts.

Sort By

Bernstein: Arias and Barcarolles

Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story


George Li in Recital

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10

Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor

Penderecki, Krzysztof: Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima

Dvořák: Carnival Overture, Opus 92

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 17 in G major, K.453

Smetana: Vltava from Má Vlast

Brahms: Trio No. 2 in C major for Violin, Cello, and Piano, Opus 87

Organist Nathan Laube Performs Bach and More