Program Notes

Each week, thousands of San Francisco Symphony concert-goers open their programs to read about the drama, the passion, and the inspiration behind the music they're hearing. You can read our critically acclaimed program notes online one week prior to select concerts.

Sort By

Ives: Symphony No. 4

Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major, Opus 61

Lutosławski: Concerto for Orchestra

Ives: Psalm 90

Ives: Symphony No. 3, The Camp Meeting

Dvořák: The American Flag, Opus 102

Beethoven: Finale: Ode, "To Joy" from Symphony No. 9

Elgar: Enigma Variations

Young Frankenstein

Schubert: Trio in B-flat major for Violin, Cello, and Piano, D.898

Mendelssohn: Trio No. 2 in C minor for Violin, Cello, and Piano, Opus 66

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2

Please wait...