Skip to main content

Yefim Bronfman Piano Recital

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers


Piano Sonata No. 5 in C minor, Opus 10, no.1

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 6 in F major, Opus 10, no.2

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 7 in D major, Opus 10, no.3

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Opus 57, Appassionata

Ludwig van Beethoven


Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Feb 28, 2021 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, we have made the difficult decision to cancel all 20-21 Season San Francisco Symphony concerts. We look forward to returning stronger and more vibrant than ever and sharing live music with you again soon. For questions or assistance, please contact the Box Office by phone 415.864.6000 or email

Listening to Bronfman play Beethoven is an experience that leaves one in rapt attention. The exceptional and internationally renowned pianist joins the global celebration of Beethoven250 in a recital that features the composer’s “trilogy of contrasts”—the three sonatas grouped as the composer’s Opus 10. It is difficult to think of an unformed Beethoven, but he, like all artists, constantly evolved and advanced his style. His Opus 10 piano sonatas, published together in 1798, are considered a critical step in the composer’s career, and show him absorbing influence of Mozart and Haydn—and then superseding them as he revolutionized music. Closing the program is the aptly nicknamed Appassionata sonata, where we hear Beethoven pushing forward with new personality and profound emotion.