Skip to main content

The Fight for Equality: Julia Wolfe & Florence Price

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Giancarlo Guerrero


Aaron Diehl


Lorelei Ensemble

Vocal Ensemble

San Francisco Symphony


Sixth Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman (San Francisco Symphony Premiere)
Joan Tower

Piano Concerto
(San Francisco Symphony Premiere)


Her Story
(San Francisco Symphony Co-commission)

Julia Wolfe


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, Nov 14, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.


Giancarlo Guerrero’s appearance is supported by the Louise M. Davies Guest Conductor Fund.

Event Description

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, we have made the difficult decision to cancel all San Francisco Symphony concerts through December 31, 2020. We look forward to returning stronger and more vibrant than ever and sharing live music with you again soon.

For questions or assistance, please contact the Box Office by phone 415.864.6000 or email

The San Francisco Symphony is joined by the Lorelei Ensemble for the world premiere of folk/rock/classical mixologist Julia Wolfe’s profound new work Her Story, a San Francisco Symphony commission inspired by progress: the 100-year anniversary of the ratification of women’s suffrage in the United States. Nicaraguan-born conductor Giancarlo Guerrero and soloist Aaron Diehl make their San Francisco Symphony debuts in a program that opens with a virtuosic, one-movement piano concerto by pioneering American composer Florence Price, who in the 1930s became the first African-American woman to be recognized as a symphonic composer. With remarkable lyrical sweep and folk and spiritual accents, Price’s inventive concerto is testament to a composer who infused her music with a range of influences to find a voice that was all her own.

Giancarlo Guerrero
Giancarlo Guerrero