Skip to main content

Ludovic Morlot Conducts Debussy’s La Mer

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Ludovic Morlot



Overture to Beatrice et Benedict

Piano Concerto No. 5, The Egyptian

A Little Summer Suite
(San Francisco Symphony Premiere)
Betsy Jolas

La Mer

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, May 27, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, May 28, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, May 29, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Acclaimed French conductor Ludovic Morlot makes his San Francisco Symphony debut leading the Orchestra in an evocative all-French program featuring Debussy’s rhythmic and sprawling tone poem of the sea, La Mer. The evening includes the San Francisco Symphony premiere of Franco-American composer Betsy Jolas’ uplifting A Little Summer Suite, which delights with its wonderful textures and instrumental colors; and Saint-Saëns’ charming and witty final piano concerto, played by versatile French-Canadian pianist Louis Lortie. Opening the concert is Berlioz’s lithe and vivid overture to his comic opera Beatrice et Benedict .