Skip to main content

Juraj Valčuha & Joshua Bell 

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Juraj Valčuha


Joshua Bell


San Francisco Symphony


(San Francisco Symphony Premiere)

Caroline Shaw

Violin Concerto
(San Francisco Symphony Premiere)

Behzad Ranjbaran

Symphonic Dances

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Apr 29, 2021 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Apr 30, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, May 1, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.


Thursday matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.

Juraj Valčuha’s appearance is supported by the Louise M. Davies Guest Conductors Fund.

Event Description

​Born and raised in Iran, composer Behzad Ranjbaran has always been mesmerized by the sounds of the kamancheh, an ancestor of the Western violin. Dedicated to megastar Joshua Bell, who performs its San Francisco Symphony premiere, Ranjbaran’s Violin Concerto plays with east and west, with Persian music and tonalities wafting in and out. Esteemed Slovak conductor Juraj Valčuha and the Orchestra open the program with Pulitzer Prize-winner Caroline Shaw’s haunting Entr’acte, inspired by Haydn’s string quartets. Then, Rachmaninoff’s beloved Symphonic Dances—the composer’s final manuscript, where we hear him taking leave of his craft with a hymn of thanks and praise.

Juraj Valchua
Juraj Valčuha