Skip to main content

Chamber Music at Legion of Honor: Mozart & Mendelssohn

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Anton Nel



Piano Quartet in G minor, K. 478

Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Opus 49


Sun, Sep 27, 2020 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Due to the COVID-19 situation, the June 7 Chamber Music at the Legion of Honor: Mozart & Mendelssohn is now rescheduled for the 2020–21 season on September 27 at 2pm.

For questions or assistance, please contact the Box Office by phone 415.864.6000 or email

The San Francisco Symphony and the Fine Arts Museums are thrilled to present the acclaimed Chamber Music Series at the Legion of Honor. Experience brilliant Concertmaster Alexander Barantschik playing the gorgeous 1742 del  Gesu violin, generously on loan from the Fine Arts Museums. He leads members of the orchestra in a program of celebrated chamber composers. Mozart’s Piano Quartet is a dark and stormy drama whose virtuosic passages demand definitive skills, particularly from the pianist. With a flowing, melodic main theme from the cello, shimmering color from the piano, and effervescent lyricism throughout, Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio No. 1 remains one the composer’s most popular and beloved creations.