Skip to main content

Chamber Music Series: Exuberance—Music of Mendelssohn & Brahms

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Members of the San Francisco Symphony


As One

Gene Koshinski

String Quintet No. 2 in B-flat major, Opus 87 

Café Music
Paul Schoenfeld
Piano Quintet in F minor,
Opus 34


Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, May 16, 2021 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Lift your spirits with a chamber program that beams with bold exuberance. Brahms’ only piano quintet underwent several metamorphoses before reaching its final glorious form. A mighty work of tremendous scope, it earned the distinction of being Brahms’ great chamber music epic. The rapturous expression and exhilarating intensity of Mendelssohn’s string quintet ascend to nearly operatic heights, while two contemporary works by Gene Koshinski and Paul Schoenfield light up the stage with spectacular vitality and flair.