Skip to main content

Chamber Music Series: On Endings—Beethoven’s B-flat String Quartet 

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Members of the San Francisco Symphony


Trio for 5 Instruments

David Garner
Piano Trio in G minor, Opus 15 
String Quartet in B-flat major, Opus 130
Ludwig van Beethoven


Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Apr 18, 2021 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Experience chamber works written by master composers who defy death and affliction with their art. Continuing his radical, late-in-life re-imaginings of the string quartet, Beethoven’s revolutionary Opus 130 presents a technical facility and emotional expression that is utterly transformative and profound. Battered by the devastating loss of his beloved young daughter, Smetana’s impassioned and luxuriant Piano Trio channeled tragedy into his first great achievement as a composer. Also on the program: Composer (and SF Conservatory professor) David Garner showcases his unique harmonic language in Trio for 5 Instruments.