Skip to main content

Chamber Music Series: Homage— Dvořák’s Wind Serenade

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Members of the San Francisco Symphony


Piano Trio in F-sharp minor

Divertimento in E-flat major for Viola, Cello, and Bass, MH.9D

M. Haydn

Serenade in D minor for Winds, Cello, and Bass, Opus 4 



Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Feb 14, 2021 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Expect the unexpected with a collection of chamber works that pay tribute to surprising musical influences. Featuring a mash-up of Classical stylings and Bohemian folk dance rhythms, Dvořák’s Wind Serenade is a good- natured wink toward Mozart’s stately wind- band music. The exquisite Trio Sonata of Michael Haydn (younger brother of the more famous Joseph) was written while working alongside his brilliant and eager young colleague at the Salzburg court, Mozart. Echoes of Rachmaninoff and Prokofiev can be heard in Armenian composer Arno Babajanian’s Piano Trio.