Skip to main content

Chamber Music Series: Dance Moves—Music of Piazzolla & Bartók 

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Members of the San Francisco Symphony


The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
Piazzolla (arr. Edwards)

Full Circle Fifty

Jake Heggie

Fantasy Duo

String Quartet No. 5


Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Jan 17, 2021 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Experience music curated and performed by small ensembles of San Francisco Symphony musicians.

Get swept off your feet by chamber works that move with the rhythm, fluidity, and virtuosity of dance. Bartók’s String Quartet is a fascinating gallery of rhythmic vignettes, from a swirling, Bulgarian peasant dance to the hypnotic sounds of the night and its creatures. Argentine composer Astor Piazzolla’s extraordinary genre hybrid combines Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons with a zesty tango twist. Also on the program: a contemporary work by Grammy-nominated composer Jake Heggie whose Moby-Dick Orchestra Suite receives its SF Symphony premiere in the 2021 season.