Skip to main content

Blomstedt: Sibelius 4  & Hélène Grimaud

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Herbert Blomstedt

SFS Conductor Laureate

San Francisco Symphony


Tragic Overture

Symphony No. 4

Piano Concerto

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Feb 18, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Feb 19, 2021 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Feb 21, 2021 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Conductor Laureate Herbert Blomstedt leads the orchestra in a program exploring music born of tragedy and strife. First comes Brahms’ Tragic Overture, a work that finds inspiration from tragedies of Sophocles to Shakespeare. Sibelius’ Symphony No. 4 offers a much more personal take on the composer’s bouts of depression. When a malignant tumor left him grappling with his own mortality, writing the symphony proved to be a monumental struggle. At its premiere, audiences were disquieted by the brooding music, yet today, it is considered one of his greatest masterpieces. Finally, the elegant and impassioned Hélène Grimaud joins the Orchestra for Schumann’s only piano concerto, a work he struggled to write over the course of nearly 18 years. The result is a concerto whose haunting melodies and prominent orchestral interplay has inspired the likes of Grieg, Tchaikovsky, and Rachmaninoff.

Herbert Blomstedt
Herbert Blomstedt