Skip to main content

Yefim Bronfman Piano Recital

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers


Piano Sonata No. 5 in C minor, Opus 10, no.1


Piano Sonata No. 6 in F major, Opus 10, no.2


Piano Sonata No. 7 in D major, Opus 10, no.3


Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Opus 57, Appassionata



Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Apr 5, 2020 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Presenting Sponsor
Great Performers Series

The BEETHOVEN250 Piano Recital with Yefim Bronfman is also supported by the Newton and Rochelle Becker Charitable Trust.

Event Description

The San Francisco Symphony welcomes renowned musicians from across the globe to the Davies Symphony Hall stage in a series that presents top-tier ensembles and artists in recital.

Listening to Bronfman play Beethoven is an experience that leaves one in rapt attention. The exceptional and internationally renowned pianist joins the global celebration of Beethoven250 in a recital that features the composer’s “trilogy of contrasts”—the three sonatas grouped as the composer’s Opus 10. It is difficult to think of an unformed Beethoven, but he, like all artists, constantly evolved and advanced his style. His Opus 10 piano sonatas, published together in 1798, are considered a critical step in the composer’s career, and show him absorbing influence of Mozart and Haydn—and then superseding them as he revolutionized music. Closing the program is the aptly nicknamed Appassionata sonata, where we hear Beethoven pushing forward with new personality and profound emotion.