Joshua Gersen

Joshua Gersen is currently the Assistant Conductor of the New York Philharmonic, where he recently made his subscription debut on hours’ notice. He was previously music director of the New York Youth Symphony and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation conducting fellow of the New World Symphony, where he served as the assistant conductor to Michael Tilson Thomas, and led the orchestra in various subscription, education, and family concerts, including the orchestra's PULSE concert series. He made his conducting debut with the San Francisco Symphony in 2013. Mr. Gersen was the winner of the Aspen Music Festival's 2011 Aspen Conducting Prize and the 2010 Robert J. Harth Conducting Prize, and served as the festival's assistant conductor for the 2012 summer season under Robert Spano. He served as the principal conductor of the Ojai Music Festival in 2013, and has also conducted the orchestras of Washington DC, Indianapolis, Alabama, Toronto, New Jersey, Jacksonville Symphony, and members of the Pittsburgh Symphony. He was also a recipient of a 2015 and 2016 Solti Foundation US Career Assistance Award.

Mr. Gersen made his conducting debut at age eleven with the Greater Bridgeport Youth Orchestra and his professional conducting debut five years later when he led the Greater Bridgeport Symphony in a performance of his own composition, A Symphonic Movement. Mr. Gersen is a graduate of the Curtis Institute of Music, where he studied conducting with Otto-Werner Mueller and the New England Conservatory of Music, where he studied composition with Michael Gandolfi. His String Quartet No. 1 and Fantasy for Chamber Orchestra were premiered in New England Conservatory's Jordan Hall and he has had works performed by the New Mexico Symphony, Greater Bridgeport Symphony, and frequently with the Greater Bridgeport Youth Orchestra. He has also conducted several world premieres of new works with both the New World Symphony and New York Youth Symphony, and collaborated with many contemporary composers including John Adams, Christopher Rouse, Steven Mackey, Mason Bates, and Michael Gandolfi.

(December 2017)