Young Women’s Choral Projects of San Francisco, Susan McMane, Director

Founded in 2012 and led by Artistic and Executive Director Susan McMane, the Young Women’s Choral Projects of San Francisco (YWCP) aims to provide choral experiences for young women ages five to eighteen from across the San Francisco Bay Area. The mission of the YWCP is to transform the lives of young women through exceptional artistry in choral performance, and bring the expressive power of their music to the community, the nation, and the world. Through YWCP, participants of richly diverse socio-ethnic backgrounds find their voices as singers, artists, and women in a nurturing environment that empowers them to artistic and personal excellence. The Young Women’s Chorus of San Francisco is YWCP’s premiere chorus. Comprised of young women ages eleven through eighteen, the chorus has performed on the San Francisco Opera stage with Jake Heggie and Frederica von Stade; at Cal Performances with the Kronos Quartet and the Philharmonia Orchestra of London, respectively; and has toured nationally or internationally every year. In 2014, YWC won the American Prize in Choral Performance and the Dale Warland Singers Commission Award from Chorus America and American Composers Forum. This season the Young Women’s Chorus performs six concerts in the San Francisco Bay Area and embarks on a concert tour to Slovenia, Austria, and Hungary.

Susan McMane has been sharing her love of singing with young people for more than thirty years. Her choruses have won the ASCAP Award for Adventurous Programming and have been featured on Grammy-winning recordings with the San Francisco Symphony. Ms. McMane is responsible for commissioning more than twenty new works from composers such as Chen Yi, Tania Leon, Augusta Read Thomas, Frank La Rocca, Gabriela Frank, David Conte, Karen P. Thomas, and Alberto Grau, among others. Ms. McMane has prepared choirs for performances with conductors including Michael Tilson Thomas, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Helmut Rilling, Robert Spano, Charles Dutoit, Nicholas McGegan, and Kurt Masur.

(April 2017)