Mendelssohn and Adès: Heras-Casado conducts A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Buy Tickets

Pablo Heras-Casado’s project continues with a nod to Mendelssohn and Thomas Adès’s Shakespearean bent. Each composer’s oeuvre has betrayed him as a devoted Shakespearean: Mendelssohn’s bewitching incidental music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream ranks among the Romantic era’s quintessential works, while Adès’s gripping and masterful operatic setting of The Tempest has quickly become an indispensable modern classic. The program concludes with the San Francisco Symphony and Chorus in a rarely heard gem: Mendelssohn’s dramatic setting of Goethe’s hallucinatory vision of the witches’ Sabbath, Die erste Walpurgisnacht (The First Walpurgis Night).

Save 50% when you buy all three concerts in the Mendelssohn Adès Festival.  Click here to set up your Festival Pack.


Pablo Heras-Casado


Audrey Luna


Isabel Leonard


Charlotte Hellekant


Alek Shrader


Rod Gilfry


San Francisco Symphony

Ragnar Bohlin



Concert: Approx. 1h 40m, includes intermission.

Watch a Video


Heras-Casado on His Philosophy of Rehearsal

Thomas Adès wins a Gramophone Award for The Tempest

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, Oct 11, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  3. Sat, Oct 12, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

October 10 sponsored by