MTT and Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring and Gil Shaham

Buy Tickets

Stravinsky’s music has been a passion of Michael Tilson Thomas’s since he met the composer while studying at USC. Fitting that the music of Stravinsky plays a prominent part in the season. Audience favorite Gil Shaham interprets the exuberant, lilting, and vibrantly expressive concerto, while the SFS dives into The Rite of Spring.

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.

“[Shaham has] big technique, electrically charged tone, and general effusiveness.”  THE NEW YORK TIMES



Gil Shaham


San Francisco Symphony





Violin Concerto

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Watch a Video

Watch the first chapter of the documentary MTT & SFS Keeping Score: Rite of Spring. For all five chapters, visit Keeping Score on PBS.

Watch Stravinsky's Rite of Spring on PBS. See more from Keeping Score.

Listen to Music

Listen to the The Rite of Spring episode on MTT and the SFS’s national radio series entitled "The Keeping Score Series: 13 Days When Music Changed Forever"

Explore Interactive Feature

At, MTT and the San Francisco Symphony have developed an interactive site delving into the musical score and the people behind the 1913 premiere of The Rite of Spring. Click here to view now.

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Jun 19, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  2. Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with James M. Keller, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion.

Special Offer

Share two glasses of bubbly, two chocolate covered strawberries and two delectable truffles for just $21 at your concerts at Davies Symphony Hall. Call (415) 252-1937 to pre-order for intermission. Orders must be placed by 3:30pm the day before the concert. Pick-up is available on all levels.

Rite of Spring: The 100th Anniversary

The 12-13 season marks the 100th anniversary of Stravinksy's Rite of Sping. Explore MTT and the SFS's rich history with this work through mutlimedia and interactive content, or live performances.