Eschenbach conducts Dvořák

Schoenberg’s First Chamber Symphony brought to a close a period characterized by dramatic, richly melodic works. Composer Alban Berg called it “a real milestone in the history of music.” Heart-racing melodies abound in the symphony Dvořák composed while living in New York City, which he hailed, in 1892, for its “lovely buildings and beautiful streets and everywhere, the greatest cleanliness.” The ecstatic symphony remains among the most popular ever penned.

"[Matthias Goerne] dynamic range is huge, and the power at the extremities of his voice are fully equal to that of its middle register." —THE GUARDIAN


Christoph Eschenbach


Matthias Goerne


San Francisco Symphony



Chamber Symphony No. 1


"Die Frist is um" from The Flying Dutchman


Wotan’s Farewell from Die Walküre


Symphony No. 9, From the New World

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert Length is approximately 2 hours.

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Apr 25, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, Apr 26, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  3. Sat, Apr 27, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior to concerts.