András Schiff plays Bach: French Suites

Buy Tickets

The San Francisco Symphony Presents Great Performers

András Schiff “would make Bach proud," asserts New York Magazine. Schiff’s Project San Francisco appearances—as well as his overall professional devotion—center on performances of Bach’s keyboard music. In two programs, April 14 and 21, Schiff explores the French and English Suites, early works that have little to do with France and England, and everything to do with Bach’s genius in creating complex yet inviting and eminently listenable music.

Co-presented by the San Francisco Symphony and San Francisco Performances.

“There is nothing more reliable in the world of classical music today than pianist András Schiff playing Bach." —THE NEW YORK TIMES




French Suites

Concert Length: Approximately 2 Hours

Watch Video

András Schiff plays Bach at WQXR's Greene Space, on April 10, 2013.

Watch András Schiff play excerpts from the French Suites, courtesy of EuroArts. 

"To me, he's a divine presence and the greatest composer of all time"
— András Schiff on J.S. Bach

Read an Article

"Maybe the definition of a master is elusive. But somehow you know one when you hear one, as was clear on Monday night when the pianist András Schiff played a recital before a full house of rapt listeners at Carnegie Hall." Read the full review on

Buy Tickets

  1. Sun, Apr 14, 2013 at 7:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Program Support

Presenting Sponsor
Great Performers Series


Special Offer

Share two glasses of bubbly, two chocolate covered strawberries and two delectable truffles for just $21 at your concerts at Davies Symphony Hall. Call (415) 252-1937 to pre-order for intermission. Orders must be placed by 3:30pm the day before the concert. Pick-up is available on all levels.