Back to Press Room

Press Room

SFS Youth Orchestra presents world premiere of new commission written by Anahita Abbasi, March 4

February 16, 2018

Public Relations
San Francisco Symphony
(415) 503-5474

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE / February 16, 2018


Photo credit: Stefan Cohen. Images of Christian Reif and the SFS Youth Orchestra are available for download in the SFSYO Press Kit)



SFSYO and the International Contemporary Ensemble commission … within the shifting grounds … by Iranian composer Anahita Abbasi; World premiere performance on March 4 will be live-streamed via the San Francisco Symphony’s Facebook page at approximately 2:20 pm PST

March 4 concert also includes Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7, and small ensemble music by Gabrieli, Ruggles, R. Strauss, and Michael Burritt

SFSYO 35th Anniversary Season culminates May 13 with performance of Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps, Fauré’s Pelléas et Mélisande, and Ligeti’s Concert Românesc


SAN FRANCISCO, February 16, 2018—The San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra celebrates its 35th anniversary this season. Recognized as one of the finest youth orchestras in the world, the SFSYO presents two concerts in March and May that showcase its remarkable artistry in programs that include symphonic core repertoire, rarely heard orchestral works, and the world premiere of … within the shifting grounds … by Iranian composer Anahita Abbasi. SFSYO musicians are selected from hundreds of applicants from the greater Bay Area through annual auditions and receive a pre-professional caliber tuition-free orchestra experience. SFSYO musicians receive weekly coaching by SFS musicians, have opportunities throughout each season to work with various esteemed visiting artists, as well as rehearsals and performances at Davies Symphony Hall under the direction of Wattis Foundation Music Director Christian Reif. To date, the Youth Orchestra has embarked on ten international tours including appearances at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and Berliner Philharmonie, and released ten recordings.

This season the SFS Youth Orchestra partnered with the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) to commission … within the shifting grounds … by Iranian composer Anahita Abbasi, and will give its world premiere performance at Davies Symphony Hall on March 4, to be live-streamed on the Symphony’s Facebook page at approximately 2:20 pm Pacific Standard Time. 

[To download the full PDF version of this press release, click the link at the top]