Press Room

Michael Tilson Thomas, the San Francisco Symphony, and pianist Yuja Wang embark on tour of Asia featuring ten concerts in six cities, November 9-22 

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (September 15, 2016) – Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas (MTT) and the San Francisco Symphony (SFS) embark on their fourth tour of Asia together (and the SF Symphony’s eighth overall) November 9-22, 2016, performing a total of ten concerts in Seoul, South Korea (November 9-10); Tainan, Taiwan (November 12); Taipei, Taiwan (November 13); Shanghai, China (November 15 and 17); Beijing, China (November 18); Osaka, Japan (November 20); and Tokyo, Japan (November 21-22). Pianist Yuja Wang will join the Orchestra on tour, performing Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1—which also features SFS Principal Trumpet Mark Inouye in a solo role—and Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2. Pianist Dong-Hyek Lim will perform the Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 in Seoul, Korea. The tour showcases the SFS’s newly commissioned work by Chinese composer Bright Sheng, Dream of the Red Chamber Overture. Other concert repertoire includes Michael Tilson Thomas’s own Agnegram, Stravinsky’s Le Chant du rossignol and The Firebird Suite, Mahler’s Symphony No. 1, and Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7. San Francisco audiences will have the opportunity to preview this music at Davies Symphony Hall in concerts September 28-October 1 and November 2-4. Read more

All Press Releases

For Media Inquiries

(415) 503-5474

Davies Symphony Hall
201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102

Mason Bates: Works for Orchestra with MTT & SF Symphony

Follow us on Twitter