Mark Inouye

Principal, William G. Irwin Charity Foundation Chair

Mark InouyeMark Inouye, Principal Trumpet of the San Francisco Symphony and occupant of the William G. Irwin Charity Foundation Chair, attended UC Davis and graduated from the Juilliard School. He has held principal trumpet positions with the Houston and Charleston symphonies and has performed with the New York Philharmonic and the Israel Philharmonic. He has toured the US with the organ and trumpet duo Toccatas and Flourishes, and he was a member of the Empire Brass Quintet. His jazz album, The Trumpet & the Bull, includes his own compositions.For more on Mark Inouye, visit

(September 2018)

Aaron Schuman

Associate Principal Trumpet 

Aaron Schuman joined the SFS as Associate Principal Trumpet in 2018. A native of Buffalo, New York, he graduated from Northwestern University’s Bienen School of Music before pursuing graduate studies at Rice University. 


Guy Piddington

Guy Piddington joined the San Francisco Symphony trumpet section, occupying the Ann L. & Charles B. Johnson Chair, in 2012. He has held positions with the Metropolitan Opera and the Syracuse Symphony, and he has performed and recorded with the New York Philharmonic, Colorado Symphony, Rochester Philharmonic, and Mariinsky Orchestra. He studied with Charles Geyer at the Eastman School of Music and Northwestern University, where he received his bachelor’s degree. He holds a master’s degree from the Juilliard School, where he studied with Philip Smith.

(September 2018)

Jeff Biancalana

Jeff Biancalana, a native of Chicago, joined the San Francisco Symphony in 2011. He studied at the Eastman School of Music and has performed with ensembles including the Milwaukee Symphony; the New York, Buffalo, and Rochester philharmonics; the New World Symphony; New York Big Brass; Chicago’s Music of the Baroque; Houston Grand Opera; and the Chicago Contemporary Players. Mr. Biancalana is a member of the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, performs in the Grand Teton Music Festival, and is on faculty at California State University East Bay.

(September 2018)