San Francisco Symphony Asia Tour 2016

Michael Tilson Thomas, The San Francisco Symphony, and Pianist Yuja Wang embark upon a tour of Asia featuring ten concerts in six cities, November 9–22, performing a total of ten concerts in Seoul, South Korea; Tainan, Taiwan; Taipei, Taiwan; Shanghai, China; Beijing, China; Osaka, Japan; and Tokyo, Japan.

Pianist Yuja Wang will join the Orchestra on tour, performing Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1—which also features SFS Principal Trumpet Mark Inouye in a solo role—and Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2. Pianist Dong-Hyek Lim will perform the Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 in Seoul, South Korea.

The tour showcases the SF Symphony’s newly commissioned work by Chinese composer Bright Sheng, Dream of the Red Chamber Overture. Other concert repertoire includes Michael Tilson Thomas’s own Agnegram, Stravinsky’s Le Chant du rossignol and The Firebird Suite, Mahler’s Symphony No. 1, and Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7.

On this tour of Asia, Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony make their first-ever appearance together in South Korea, with two performances at the Seoul Arts Center, as well as their first performance in Tainan, Taiwan at the Tainan Municipal Cultural Center, and first performance in Osaka, Japan at Osaka Festival Hall.

When asked about this tour, Michael Tilson Thomas commented, “we are bringing the adventurous spirit and generosity of San Francisco to audiences across the Pacific. Our orchestra is like our city, and sharing that energy through music with new people is always a great pleasure. The audiences we encountered on our last trip to Asia in 2012 impressed us with a true love for music and an eagerness to connect with our musicians. We very much look forward to returning to familiar venues and to exploring new cities on this tour.”

Tour Schedule

Nov 9–10:  Seoul, South Korea
Nov 12:  Tainan, Taiwan
Nov 13:  Taipei, Taiwan
Nov 15 and 17:  Shanghai, China
Nov 18:  Beijing, China
Nov 20:  Osaka, Japan
Nov 21–22:  Tokyo, Japan