Immortal Vivaldi: The Four Seasons

Buy Tickets

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

2016-17 SeasonVivaldi’s popular Four Seasons is full of musical onomatopoeia that sweep you through the seasons. Dream your way through a year of flowering meadows, merciless summer sun, bountiful harvests, and slippery ice, led by SF Symphony Concertmaster Alexander Barantschik.

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.


Alexander Barantschik

Leader and Violin

Tim Day


Mark Inouye


San Francisco Symphony



The Four Seasons


Divertimento in D Major

J.S. Bach

Brandenburg Concerto No. 2

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Vivaldi's Four Seasons

At a Glance

The Four Seasons, Opus 8, nos.1-4
 1715  |  37 mins
In his lifetime, Vivaldi enjoyed renown. But a hundred years after his death, he had been forgotten. Then in the 1950s, the arrival of the long-playing record brought Vivaldi's music back into fashion and into people's homes, popularizing what is now one of his most recognizable works: The Four Seasons. These four concertos tap into a tradition of Italian program music, and Vivaldi ingeniously integrates detailed weather reports and touches of genre painting into the piece. Bonus info: Vivaldi published accompanying texts to make his pictorial intentions explicit, and even included a running commentary that tells the violinist exactly when the zephyrs blow, the birds sing, the dogs bark, and the pedestrian slips on the ice.

Divertimento in D major, K.251
 1776  |  27 mins
Outdoor music-making was a passion of Austrians in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Growing up in Salzburg, Mozart produced an impressive catalogue of “incidental” orchestral works that were played at these outdoor diversions or as entertainment music on other occasions, including this elegant piece. The opening Molto allegro is charming and shows more than a little wit. The first Menuetto is a straightforward affair in which the wind instruments withdraw for contrast. The ensuing warm-hearted Andantino includes a surprise that arrives late in the movement. Then, a second Menuetto features a series of variations. After these variations comes a vigorous Allegro assai, an episodic and effervescent romp—just the thing to reflect the high spirits of the work’s intended listeners. To end, Mozart reminds us of the formality of the occasion through a Marcia alla francese—a March in the French Style.

Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047  1720 | 13 mins
In many ways, the Brandenburg Concertos push the possibilities of the Baroque concerto grosso form to the outer limit. Each of the six Brandenburg Concertos has its own distinct character. The Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 is one of the set’s most virtuosic, and its timbre (the quality or character of sound) is the most brilliant of the set. It calls for a solo group (the concertino) of violin, recorder (or flute), oboe, and trumpet, which interweave against a background texture of strings and harpsichord (the ripieno).

Jeanette Yu is Director of Publications at the San Francisco Symphony.





Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, May 31, 2017 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Thu, Jun 1, 2017 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk by Laura Stanfield Prichard, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn More.

Encore Pop-Up Lounge

Program Support

Media Sponsor

SF Chronicle logo