MTT conducts Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony

Buy Tickets

"It will never please the public," said Tchaikovsky of his Fifth Symphony. Yet its beautiful melodies have captivated audiences for more than a century. Michael Tilson Thomas leads the San Francisco Symphony in Tchaikovsky's passionate Fifth. And the 8,264 pipes of the Ruffatti concert organ will boom under the wizardry of Cameron Carpenter in Henry Brant’s Ice Field, the Pulitzer prize-winning piece commissioned specifically for the SF Symphony in 2001. “Everything [Carpenter] touches turns fantastical,” declares The New York Times.


Edwin Outwater


San Francisco Symphony



Brandenburg Concerto No. 3


Symphony No. 5

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5

Watch a Video

Cameron Carpenter, "bad boy of the pipe organ" on CBS "Sunday Morning":

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Sep 18, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  2. Fri, Sep 19, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  3. Sat, Sep 20, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  4. Sun, Sep 21, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior to concerts. Learn more.

Program Support

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.