Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances, plus violinist Isabelle Faust plays Britten


The music of Rachmaninoff has touched hearts for generations. Stéphane Denève, conducts the Russian master’s late, luxuriant Symphonic Dances. Barber’s Adagio for Strings is one of the most popular compositions of the 20th century, for good reason. Its pathos and tension is at once tender and irresistible. And the captivating Isabelle Faust plays Britten’s blistering Violin Concerto. "Her sound has passion, grit, and electricity,” says The New York Times

Subscribe for savings and perks! This concert is in packages:
Wednesday C
Friday C
Saturday B


Stéphane Denève


Isabelle Faust


San Francisco Symphony



Adagio for Strings


Violin Concerto


Symphonic Dances

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Oct 15, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sat, Oct 18, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior to concerts. Learn more.